Food Is NOT the Enemy, Self-Hate Is

foodnottheenemy.jpg

So much YES! Food is NEVER the enemy. Food is neither good or bad but we as a society have assigned moral values to food. So what happens is that when you eat a food you believe is “bad”, then you consciously and unconsciously see yourself as a bad person for eating that food.

Yes, there is scientific research that states that specific foods are “good” for you and other kinds of foods are “bad” for you. However, I invite you to be a FOOD SCIENTIST  and rather than seeing things as good or bad, ask yourself “Does this food serve me or not?”

The best educator if a food is going to serve you or not is YOURSELF and YOUR BODY!

What I mean by if a food serves you or not is asking yourself the following questions before  you eat the food (as a baseline), and after you eat the food, 2 hours after you eat it, and the next morning.

-How are my energy levels? Low, moderate, high?

-How is my mental clarity? Do I have brain fog or am I able to focus and concentrate? Is my mental clarity sharp?

-How is my mood? Irritable? Stable? Angry?  (note: Not the same as how I am feeling about eating that food, because your answer will always be guilt).

-How is my digestive health? Bloated? Clear? Constipated?

-How did I sleep last night?

Track these questions every time you eat your “forbidden food”, to see if there are actually negative effects on your inner health. Do not focus so much on what you “think” and “know” about the food due to what you have learned about it from outside resources. Be a Food Scientist and use yourself as the subject.

You may be surprised to learn that what you thought was “bad” for you, may actually not have any negative impact on you OR it may confirm that it does! Ultimately, this is how to start to neutralize food, and stop seeing foods as good or bad.

Food is just food.  You can change your story.

 

 

Leave a Reply

