Does Winter Make you Munch More?

FullSizeRenderLately I’ve had clients who’ve been beating themselves up for “getting off track” and “eating badly” and then feeling shame and guilt about overindulging, overeating, or eating “the wrong” foods.

So this inspired me to write a blog post about it because guess what?

I am ALSO eating a lot more than usual this past week, feeling snacky and grazing on more processed carbs than I normally would eat. I also have been feeling so uninspired to eat veggies (which I usually love). Hook me up with more granola, cheese and crackers please! 🙂

And guess what?

IT’S OKAY!!!!! REALLY! 🙂  

REALLY! 🙂

Let me tell you why:

Our bodies have such wisdom when it comes to seasonal weather changes.

If you think about it, when it’s summer, most of us prefer the lighter fresh fair, and when it’s winter, we yearn for warm, starchier foods.

From an evolutionary perspective, this makes sense because back then, cave men didn’t know when they would be getting their next food so they had to stock up and gain some fat to keep their bodies strong and warm.

So it only makes sense that our bodies have kept this same wisdom.

Oh, and I don’t know about you, but I definitely have been feeling more like hibernating than being outside or going to the gym. Yup- true story, even someone like me, who LOVES exercising actually didn’t feel like working out lately.

So after a couple days of grazing on carbs and not being as active, I noticed I was starting to feel more tension and stress in my body.

And…I did not beat myself up for it.

Instead, I honoured my feelings and recognized in the bigger picture, a few days of eating more starches is not a big deal and it makes sense- my body wants to stay warm.

I took some deep meditative breaths to give my body some calm.

I inserted gym time into my agenda for my lunch break the next day, and for the rest of the week.

I packed my meals and snacks for the next day, ensured I was getting a balance of healthy protein, healthy carbs, veggies and healthy fats.

I put calming essential oil into my diffuser in my bedroom.

And hubby and I went to bed a bit earlier than usual.

Am I back on track? No, because I never went “off track”. This is just the rhythm of life, and I find ways to honor my feelings, the needs of my body and taking the time to check in with “cues” such as not being as active (which is a great stress reliever for me), and eating more starchy carbs than my body may require. But this doesn’t mean I’m off track, it just means my body needs some extra love, care and attention. 

And that’s exactly what I did 🙂

Give yourself some love today!

Need help?  I’d love to support you!

Check out my upcoming online and in-person  Holistic Body Love Programs! 

 

Leave a Reply

