Do you need more motivation, inspiration or focus in your life?

If so, I’ve got an easy, practically free, and creative process for you to try then! (Wow, I sound like an infomercial, but got your attention, didn’t I?) 😉

The answer: Create a Vision board!!!

Wondering what the heck that is?

A vision board is a collage of images, pictures and quotes of your dreams and desires- usually around a theme or themes. They are helpful in bringing out your inner positiveness, spirit and attracting what you want in your life, like this (note: this one isn’t mine):

This past weekend, I was actually feeling tired of feeling a bit bored at the gym (for those who know me, I’m sure you’re gasping, since the gym is my second home!) I have seemed to lack the intensity that I typically love to experience in my training, and with that, I was lacking creativity in exercises too.

So…I decided to create a vision board to create some focus, intention, goals, motivation and inspiration for myself in regards to my fitness. I searched online and printed out various fitness and health photos and quotes that attracted me and were in accordance to my fitness goals. I also looked at some of my old issues of fitness magazines to find additional images and quotes that spoke to me. I even printed out a photo of myself during a time when I completed an amazing fitness journey to help remind me of my inner  “Tigress” that was evoked during this time. This photo also represented other inner strengths that I developed further – such as learning to push past my limits, staying committed and dedicated, feeling proud of myself to accomplish goals, and ability to celebrate the achievement of my goals.

Once I had collected what I wanted, I taped the photos in a collage on my bathroom mirror – which is a place that I would see this Vision board more than once a day. It will also be one of the first things I will see when I wake up in the morning. I also took crayons meant for writing on mirrors/glass, and wrote some more quotes relating to the theme of fitness.

It’s been 3 days since I’ve had my vision board up, and it has truly been helping me re-connect with my inner “Tigress” – I feel SO (re)-inspired, focused, motivated and on FIRE! My workouts have been wonderfully intense and focused again- I truly missed this fire within me – and thanks to the process of creating my vision board, I’m back in the game! 🙂

The beauty about creating a vision board is that there are NO rules! It’s really about the process in creating one. For this reason, I suggest physically creating one just like you’re back in elementary school again doing arts and crafts as opposed to copying and pasting images onto document on your computer.

Why? Because the act of physically engaging in an activity helps you get embodied (i.e., into your body) in such a wholesome and complete way – it invites not only your intellect (which is what I believe sticking to making one only on the computer would do), but creating with your hands brings out your inner child – all those feelings of being creative, playful, joy, lighthearted (young children do not worry about what others think – they just do what they want without feeling held back – there’s no right/wrong or negative judgments about what they are doing)…in order words… ALIVE!

When was the last time you did something that made you feel like that? 🙂

And then these feelings and energy are transferred into your vision board, which then are transferred into your future intentions. I feel ALIVEduring my workouts again!

So here’s some basic steps to get started on creating a vision board:

  1. Decide on a main theme for your board. It can be  something specific you want to achieve or attract in your life, or it can be a general idea of everything that makes you happy.
  2. Find images, quotes and affirmations that correspond with your theme – you can even create your own images via painting, doodling, sketching, etc.
  3. Glue or tape your vision board onto a corkboard/backdrop/mirror(like I did)
  4. Hang your vision board in a place you will see every day, preferably multiple times a day
  5. Intentially focus on the images, quotes and affirmations on your board when you look at it. I even take this a step further and sometimes say it outloud. I also highly recommend really notice how your body takes in the images and sayings. In otherwords, how do these images and quotes land inside you? Does it evoke sensations, emotions, energy in certain part of your body? Perhaps your heart? Or you may notice tingly sensations up your spine. Or you may notice warmth comes over you. Or your breathe may slow down and deepen. Whatever is occurring, just allow it to happen and take it in with your breathe. You can even place a hand over the area where you notice is speaking the most loudly to anchor your experience.

I would love to hear about your process and experiences, and the impact of creating a vision board it has on you after 4 weeks!

So with that…grab your felts, crayons, old magazines and begin creating and embodying your dreams!

HAVE FUN and don’t be afraid to get messy!!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Do you need more motivation, inspiration or focus in your life?

  1. What a lovely little online nook to discover. I’ve been wanting/planning to make a dream board for some weeks now – this is just the kick in the pants I need! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

